Weekly Reflection (4/11/16)

Another week has come and gone, which means another week of riveting, inspirational, funny, and entertaining posts have been published on Blog 218. My attempt at humor.

Anyway, here’s a recap of what I did this week. It was a little difficult for me this week, but a conversation with my girlfriend turned me onto an idea that became two of my three posts this week. While those posts stray a little bit from what I’ve written about in the past, I think it is still relevant to my overall goal of the project. They are also a kind of “field trip” that one of my readers suggested a try to write about. Besides that, I just really enjoyed recounting the story of two recent hunting trips I had with her.

My first post revisited a hot-button issue for Minnesota’s fishermen who frequent Lake Mille Lacs. Update: Lake Mille Lacs is about the backlash that occurred after DNR officials passed regulations on an extremely popular Minnesota fishing lake that left anglers, resorts, and business owners upset. The DNR responded to these pressures by reconsidering their previous ban on the use of live bait by walleye anglers, allowing anglers to use their favorite minnows, leeches, and worms come fishing opener. Hooking mortality rates that go alone with the use of live bait will likely be a factor that contributes at least some percentage to the success or failure of the state’s overall Lake Mille Lacs walleye management plan.

My next two posts are closely related and tell the story of my girlfriend’s first two hunting excursions with me – one taking place on a Bemidji area duck lake and the other overlooking southern Minnesota corn and bean fields during the 2015 deer opener. I tried to write these posts in a somewhat humorous way that shows the lighter side of hunting, and more specifically, the joys of introducing someone new to the outdoors. Abby, a relatively inexperienced hunter, has always been the type to try almost anything at least once. Sharing a duck boat and tree stand with me is no exception. I really enjoyed writing these posts because they brought back the great memories that are associated with those hunts. In the end, I think that is what blogging is all about in some aspects. Using blogs as a kind of diary helps the writer remember the moments in their lives that made an important impact.

As part of my informal studio tours, I poked around Hannah’s Blog and commented on her recent country music post. I plan on going back in the coming days to discover new music..she really has done a great job of exploring different genres.

Play Ball by Micah Friez made me remember how important baseball was to me growing up. I never missed a Twins game on TV. Now life seems busier and there is less time for baseball, but he did a great job at capturing the excitement behind Opening Day. Great trip down memory lane for me.

My good friend Emma is doing really interesting things on her blog. As I bundle up and walk to class in 30 degree weather, it is refreshing to read about the incredible things she is seeing and doing in England. Awesome pictures and descriptions of the places and people’s she’s seeing every day.

Well, I think that’s about it for this week. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

