Weekly Reflection (3/28/15)

So the 2nd week of my project has come to an end, and I have to say this week was quite a bit of a struggle compared to the other week. I just couldn’t find much to write about, and I don’t know if that is just a product of a slow news week or me just not having my eyes open wide enough. I hope to continue to come across interesting articles and topics to talk about this coming week. Part of my issue is that many of the topics that I feel could make good posts are just too cut-and-dried. I just can’t find an angle that lets me spin the story into something that I feel others would enjoy reading.

In any case, here is a recap of what I wrote this past week.

First, the biggest news I could find (and it is pretty big news) was the recent regulation changes facing anglers on one of Minnesota’s most popular fishing lakes – Lake Mille Lacs. Beginning this Spring, all walleye fishing will be catch-and-release only, with only artificial bait allowed to be used. Other regulations will also affect bass, muskie, and northern pike anglers. The DNR’s new management plan will hopefully allow walleye populations to bounce back to their previous strength while still allowing anglers to enjoy the lake and local businesses to benefit from tourism. Read Big Changes for Popular MN Lake here.

Next, the impending onslaught of ticks in Minnesota was discussed in Tick Tock for Tick Season. While many species of ticks call the state home, two of the most common species are the wood tick and deer tick. While wood ticks are generally pretty harmless, deer ticks can carry many diseases including the well-known Lyme disease. The first sign of possible Lyme disease is a red bullseye mark on the skin of the host, followed by pain in joints and muscles, fever and fatigue, and general body stiffness. I tried to take a more lighthearted look at the problem of ticks in Minnesota, while still offering enough information to help teach those not as well-versed in ticks understand them.

Finally, I was able to spend some time in the Chippewa National Forest this past weekend, which was the inspiration for my final post of the week. The Chippewa: One of Minnesota’s Wonders talks about the vastness of one of the largest forests in the United States. Covering 1.6 million acres, the Chippewa National Forest is a well-known landmark for hunters, fisherman, campers, and hikers. It truly is one of the most interesting places wild places in Minnesota.

That’s about it for this week. As I said earlier, I’m going to do my best to dig a little deeper in the weeks to come and find articles that others interested in Minnesota’s outdoors culture will find interesting. I hope you all found my posts this week interesting. Feel free to let me know if you have any ideas for topics you’d like to read more about or any other helpful tips you may have.

Until next week!

-Eric

Leave a Reply

