Weekly Reflection (3/14/16)

The first week of my project is now in the books, and I’ve got to say it has gotten off to a pretty decent start overall. I was able to find two very interesting articles from a recent edition of Outdoor News to share with my readers. The fact that I had a bit of knowledge about the topics before writing the posts helped quite a bit – it allowed me to pick out details from the Outdoor News articles that my readers are interested in, and not things that are over the heads of or uninteresting to those who may not have as much knowledge on the subjects.

The two articles I pulled from the February 19th edition of Outdoor News involved two native Minnesota species that have an important role in the state’s biodiversity. Minnesota’s moose and trumpeter swan populations were featured, with facts surrounding their success or decline supported by research done by state and federal wildlife management agencies.

I started the week by writing about northwest Minnesota’s struggling moose population, after a recently released DNR report showed a slight increase in overall moose population from 2015. While the increase is absolutely great news for Minnesota’s moose, the underlying issues goes much deeper. The state has witnessed moose populations decline rapidly since 2006, and while the animals’ populations have seen slight positive and negative variances in recent years, current moose populations remain approximately half of what they were ten years ago.

Continuing within the wildlife category, my next post involved one of the largest, whitest migratory birds in North America – the trumpeter swan. These success of these birds is one of the greatest wildlife management success stories. From being nearly wiped out in the late 1800s by hunters, to regaining a foothold in Minnesota’s wetlands through reintroduction measures in the 1980s, to a Department of Natural Resource estimated breeding population of about 17,000 birds throughout Minnesota. Thanks to the hard work of many local, state, and federal organizations, trumpeter swans have made one of the greatest comebacks in wildlife management history.

My last post for the week is simply a product of what I did that day, and what I personally felt like writing about. In Rebirth (and auger maintenance), I talk a bit about the process I go through to properly clean up and store my ice fishing equipment now that spring is nearly in full force throughout Minnesota. And while the end of the ice fishing season is a slightly depressing day for many enthusiastic outdoorsmen and women, the beginning of spring brings about the annual cycle of rebirth. The grass begins to turn green, waterfowl make their way to their northern breeding grounds, and birds like robins begin calling from the treetops.

Honestly, I was a bit worried about starting this project when it was first announced and explained in class. I kept thinking about what I would write about, and whether my posts would be interesting for others to read. While whether of not my posts are interesting to others remains to be seen, finding topics to write about is not currently an issue for me.

Enjoy your spring break!

Leave a Reply

