Weekly Reflection (2/8/16)

Another week has come and gone, and the reality that I’m about to be gradumatated in about three months is creeping up on me. After posting my three self-identity blog posts, I began to realize just how much my college experience positively affected my life. I was able to experience many new and exciting things, all while leaning about myself and who I was. It also brings up a lot of questions about what my life would be like if I hadn’t made the decision to attend college. Where would I be now if I hadn’t gone to college? What would I be doing? Who would my friends be?

I suppose one’s experiences plays into their perceptions of their self-identity.

For example: I became a more outgoing person after three years working for Housing & Residence Life. I’d like to think that this fact makes me a more fun and interesting person to be around, and helps to shape how I conduct myself online. This may be a poor example, but it’s the best I can think of right now.

Well, anyway, here’s a recap of what I did this week. Also, since it is Monday, I chose a classic Monday song for you to enjoy while you read. You’re welcome.

 

My self-identity posts went pretty well I’d say. I tried to focus on aspects of my life that have had a relatively large role in shaping who I am today. I found that it was quite easy to talk about my chosen topics. Including pictures helped to tell the story just as much as any words would have. I was excited to share a little bit about myself with the rest of the class, and I’ve enjoyed reading the self portrait posts from my classmates.

Self Portrait, Pt. 1

Self Portrait, Pt. 2

Self Portrait, Pt. 3

I connected with Zesty’s article based on the notion that social media today plays a huge role in how we view ourselves, and how we think others perceive us. Everything that is posted to social media can be considered a person’s public history. And while what is posted typically portrays only one side of a person’s story, it is how the user chooses to portray themselves to those around them. I find this true with my own social media usage – everything I post tends to be either intentionally or unintentionally tailored to fit in with how I perceive myself.

Have a great week everyone!

-ES

Leave a Reply

