New Year, New(ish) Me

This past weekend my girlfriend and I were sitting around watching TV when she received a notification from the Timehop app on her phone (for those unaware, Timehop is an app that reminds you daily about the embarrassing statuses and selfies you posted to your Facebook and Twitter accounts back in 2009).

Staring back at us from her Timehop was a picture of us together two years ago at a charity auction in which she spent $48 dollars for a date with me. While she was reminiscing about how much fun that event was, I couldn’t help but notice how thin I looked! I knew I had put on a few pounds since my sophomore year, but I didn’t realize how much of a difference 20 pounds could make.

So I’ve been making an effort to eat a bit healthier and limit the amount of junk food I eat. In the past, I’ve never really been one to pay any attention to what I eat – if it looks good, I eat it. It also doesn’t help that I know next to nothing about dieting.

I see a complete and balanced meal here…right?

But for some reason looking at that picture on my girlfriend’s Timehop made me really want to get in a bit better shape, and I think the first step is to simply not each so much. I need to start eating just enough at which point I’m no longer hungry; not the “oh my gosh, I’m so full I think I’m going to roll back to my room”, but the”ya know, I’m not hungry any more. I could eat more, but I’m not going to. I’m content” feeling is what I’m shooting for from now on.

Also, some simple dieting strategies I plan to try that I think are somewhat legit? Or at least ones that make sense to me:

  • Pop = tasty, but bad. Water and milk only.
  • Salad and fruits = good. Eat, eat, eat.
  • Sweets = bad, limit as much as possible. (But don’t forget to live just a little)
  • Meat = delicious in all shapes and sizes, but try to limit myself to lean meats and remember portions
  • Couches = soft and comfortable, but limit amount of time spent using
  • Stairs = GOOD!

 

Anyway, I just thought I would share what I’m trying to both get in better shape and feel better about myself. Let me know if you have any suggestions…I know at least a couple of you are fitness gurus!

-ES

 

4 thoughts on “New Year, New(ish) Me

  1. Pingback: Weekly Reflection (2/1/16) – Blog 218

  2. Awww I remember that auction that started it all 🙂 🙂 🙂 I would say drink drink drink as much water as you can! It will flush you system out and increase your metabolism! If you put a little lemon juice in the water that’s even better because lemon is naturally a metabolic balancer!

    Like

  3. I totally get it. I’ve been going through the same thing ahaha I’ve just been really trying to portion myself. Of course I’m still in the early stages of it all but hopefully it’ll work. I’m a huge foodie, and I’ve read that the best way to stay committed to a ‘diet’ is to eat what you like (of course not all of it should be crazy bad) in portions, with one cheat meal that will make everything worth it. Maybe we could do it together! ahaha it’s always best to have a tribe

    Like

Leave a Reply

